Nevada Labor Commissioner Thoran Towler today released the annual bulletins for Nevada’s minimum wage and daily overtime requirements that will take effect this summer. The rates for the upcoming year will remain unchanged from last year.
The minimum wage for employees who receive qualified health benefits from their employers will remain at $7.25 per hour and the minimum wage for employees who do not receive health benefits will remain at $8.25 per hour.
The 2006 Minimum Wage Amendment to the Nevada Constitution requires the minimum wage to be recalculated each year. The rates are adjusted annually by comparing the amount of increases in the federal minimum wage over $5.15 per hour, or, if greater, by the cumulative increase in the cost of living.
“While the cost of living adjustment for this year increased over last year, it is still less than the $2.10 increase in the federal minimum wage that went into effect in 2009,” said Commissioner Towler.
Likewise, Nevada employers will not see an increase in the threshold for daily overtime. Nevada is one of a few states with a daily overtime requirement in addition to the more familiar requirement to pay overtime for more than 40 hours in a workweek. “Nevada’s daily overtime requirement is tied to the minimum wage,” Towler said, “As the minimum wage goes up, so does the daily overtime requirement. Since the minimum wage is not increasing this year, the daily overtime will remain the same as well.”
Employees who receive qualified health benefits from their employer and earn less than $10.875 per hour, and employees earning less than $12.375 per hour who do not receive qualified health benefits, must be paid overtime whenever they work more than 8 hours in a 24-hour period. These changes do not affect employees who are exempt from overtime under Nevada state law.
Source: State of Nevada Department of Business and Industry Press Release, April 1, 2014